Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 7th, 2011

The kind of wife I want to be…. Proverbs 31

Proverbs 31:10 (New International Version, ©2010)

Epilogue: The Wife of Noble Character

 10 [a]A wife of noble character who can find?
   She is worth far more than rubies.

~~~~~

According to Matthew Henry’s commentary this is the description of a virtuous woman of those days, but the general outlines equally suit every age and nation. She is very careful to recommend herself to her husband’s esteem and affection, to know his mind, and is willing that he rule over her. 1. She can be trusted, and he will leave such a wife to manage for him. He is happy in her. And she makes it her constant business to do him good.

Wow, I love this TRUST, HAPPINESS, GOOD.  In my life I have struggled so much with trust issues because of my past and past choices.  It is really hard to give trust once you have been hurt and even harder I think to be trusted when you can not first give trust.  I have to choose daily to trust my husband and not because of anything he has done but because God tells me to trust in Him (God) and He (God) will make all things possible. Through God I can become trustworthy to my husband because my desire is to please the Lord. I must focus on God, my Father, my Provider and most of all my Healer and everything else will fall into place.

I love how Matthew Henry says ‘He is happy in her.” I know for a fact that my husband is happy in me, and there is no better feeling than that, in fact that alone makes me want to focus more on becoming a Proverbs 31 wife.  

I had  to laugh out loud when I read, “she makes it her constant business to do him good” I have so many control issues that I am daily working on and the fact that it is my business to do my husband good, well that is something GOOD that I can control.  I pray that I can daily bring good to my husband in my words and in my actions and in the way I respond to him. 

Read Full Post »